Inevitability of Both

Waking up is a nuisance.

Going to sleep is a nightmare,

As I pop caffeine pills, and wash

Them down with Monster

Energy drinks, trying to avoid

The inevitability of both.

My arms shake, head throbs

As I take a bigger gulp,

Swallow more pills.

Maybe my heart will explode,

And it will all end.

The pain, the suffering.

Or maybe my head will calm down,

Stop running for just a bit.

Just slow down, to give me peace.

But why would I sleep,

When I don’t want to wake up?

So I just sit her, take another sip,

Pop more pills, trying to avoid

The inevitability of both.

Leave a Reply

